Black Friday’s Done

Normally, I make a point of not buying anything on Black Friday, but in a moment of madness, I checked my Amazon wishlist for price drops on books that I’m waiting to buy. One had dropped from an untouchable $7.99 to $1.99, so I grabbed it.

I try to avoid buying anything during the holiday madness, and what little I do get, I order online. I desperately need a new pair of sweatpants and haven’t been able to find anything that fits me in the thrift stores, so Amazon will probably get one more sale out of me this year. And maybe another book or two.

I’ve been going to thrift stores more frequently than usual, lately, because my son prowls them on a regula basis, building up a book business on Amazon. If you hear squeals from my direction it’s because the Salvation Army is so overloaded with books that the price has dropped to a dime. I don’t find many that I really want, but it’s nice to be able to pick up a bunch of stuff that might be worth trying out, without investing a lot of money.

6 thoughts on “Black Friday’s Done

  1. Ah, I must check my local Salvation Army store for books. I am collecting stuff for Books to Prisoners, and 3Rs, the group that trys to supply needed books to prison libraries, just got a new library taking part. Thrillers and some fantasy novels are fairly easy to come by, but try finding books on playing chess, or how to start a small business. I just got a request for books on US presidents. – something should turn up in used book piles. Thanks for the suggestion.

    1. That’s a great thing to be doing. Depending on the size of the store, Goodwill might also have a decent amount of books. Both of the local stores have a lot of nonfiction, so you might find some good stuff. My son recently found another fairly large local thrift, so I’ve had an orgy of book buying lately. Now I need a new bookcase.

  2. I’m downsizing. Books are going – unless I’m sure I’m going to read them again, or need them to write.

    I usually donate them to the Friends of the Library sale – it’s my way of supporting my local library. Have you looked for books that way? When they sell them, they go very cheap.

    The biggest problem is that books are not widgets – they are not equivalent. A pristine copy of a Dan Brown book holds no value for me, whereas a copy of something I want can be dogeared and underlined, and I’d still get it.

    I have friends who have a library with every important hardcover of the past century. I wonder if any of them get read, or if they just look good. I’d borrow some of them, but I’d have to return them – they have their ‘spot’ on the shelf.

    1. I was involuntarily downsized when I had to abandon my Pennsylvania apartment, so I’m still pretty far from having the overload of books I used to have. A lot that I’m buying now are read once/toss. Libraries don’t need them, even if the local library wasn’t a bus ride away. I’ve been here over a year now and still haven’t take the bus to town. Lack of energy, lack of any real desire to window shop/explore.

      I prefer paperbacks to hardcovers, and like you will cherish beaten up ones that speak to me. Between the plethora of used books online, and the occasional trip to thrifts with the boy, I’m well served.

  3. Second hand stores are awesome! I dont find great books (most I already have) but I find records. An original unopened Physical Graffiti-Led Zep album! and other good stuff. But my best hauls are tools and parts. I got a manual torque wrench for 5 bucks! A 70s Ford radio for 3! That on ebay would be at least 100. Yes…that’s one of my insanities lol

    1. I fell in love with thrift stores when I was still in my teens and had to dredge book money out of my lunch allowance. Better to go hungry than go without books. My current apartment is almost excusively thrift store furnished. Yard sales are great too, but I don’t get out to those much anymore, and they can amount to a lot of running around without much to show for it.

      My son not only sells LPs on Amazon, he collects album covers from the 50s, 60s and 70s. He loves the funky stuff, and the big thrifts are full of them.

Leave a Reply

