Cogitating about Aspergers and Maverick Writer

There’s been plenty of cogitating since I wrote yesterday’s post, and for those of you who notice patterns, you will probably be expecting a few more in this daily run and then an extended silence. The inevitability of the extended silence assured me that starting another blog in order to discuss being a writer with Aspergers would be a very bad idea. There isn’t much energy to spare for the already-existing projects, and I doubt that the subject could be (or should be) dragged out indefinitely.

The solution is a header for Aspergers posts–Aspie Chronicles, maybe?–so readers who aren’t interested can skip right over them. Aspie Writer? Okay, that’s more informative. For new readers unfamiliar with the term Aspie, I’ll probably explain it briefly every now and then. It’s just a nickname that some of us use–and that some of us hate.

Science fiction is very often an interest of people on the autistic spectrum, and since this blog has moved in that direction, expect some more cogitating–about how nontypical thinking might be an advantage to someone who writes science fiction.

I’ve never “come out” as an aspie, except on a couple of autism/aspergers forums which quickly grew too boring to hold my attention. In all my years on the internet, no one has ever asked me if I’m on the spectrum or suggested that I might be. It hasn’t really mattered, as far as I can tell. I keep my private life to myself, and generally don’t identify as either male or female on the web. Some people respond to my writing as if it’s by a male, so maybe it does make some difference. I don’t know whether that’s due to voice or my preference for analysis and logic.

When they’re relevant to my writing, I’ll mention or discuss some of my personal quirks and peculiarities, but there won’t be an Aspergers biography. My readers won’t be subjected to yet another confessional. I don’t do confessionals. I don’t even read them, as a general rule. For one thing, most of them vary only in the details, otherwise being typically human and thus, eventually, predictable and boring. I suspect that isn’t a normal response since autobiographies and confessionals never seem to fade in popularity.

 

Leave a Reply

