The Tide Rolls In, The Tide Rolls Out

The energy tide, that is. I’ve had to take several breaks from the revision of Privileged Lives, but I’m down to the final chapter today. A lot of tightening up reduced the word count enough that I’ve been able to build up weak areas without making the book longer. 93,000+ words is a good length to maintain. Next will come several editing runs, then spell check, a round or two of ProWritingAid, and a final proofread. The cover is still ahead, with the first viable idea since I wrote the darn thing.

Oops. I was going to start serializing it yesterday. Fibro fog or just old-fashioned forgetfulness? Since the first two chapters introduce the two protagonists, Maybe I’ll post both those chapters this weekend. Nope. They’re both around 5,000 words, so I’ll have to split them.

The renewal notice came up for PWA the other day, and it was somewhat alarming to realize I’ve had it for a year and only used it for one book. The cost was probably more than I earned all year, so I’ll have to keep that in mind from now on and get more work finished. Which I intend to do anyway.

I’ll be so glad to get this novel out of the way. As usual, new ideas keep nagging at me along with the WIPs that are demanding my time.

3 thoughts on “The Tide Rolls In, The Tide Rolls Out

    1. Basically, it’s the same. I rearranged the first two chapters, combined several others, and I’m tightening it up, getting deeper into the relationship between Bennett and Linden. What’s different, mostly, is that there’s more about Linden’s original work at Merriman, and what he’s going to be doing when they’re contracted out. It got critiqued mostly for the ending which came too fast, without enough detail, so that’s a big part of the change.

      Since you’ve already bought it, when I publish the new version, remind me, and I’ll make sure you get a copy.

Leave a Reply

